[Cdt-l] Triple Crown Award

yogi yogihikes at sbcglobal.net
Mon Jun 2 21:13:47 CDT 2008

The Triple Crown Award is recognition of the
dedication, commitment, and achievement of those who
have completed the three major National Scenic Trails;
the Appalachian Trail, the Pacific Crest Trail, and
the Continental Divide Trail.  ALDHA-West
(www.aldhawest.org) is the only organization that
officially recognizes the accomplishment of these few
intrepid hikers.  At the ALDHA-West Gathering, held
each fall, the Triple Crown honorees are recognized
and awarded plaques noting their achievement.

Operating on the honor system, ALDHA-West gives equal
recognition to thru-hikers and section-hikers and
assumes that those who apply for Triple Crown status
have hiked the entire length of all three trails. 
Reasonable alternate routes or required road walks are
considered viable substitutes for an official route,
assuming one exists.  ALDHA-West does not consider
issues such as sequence, direction, speed, duration,
frequency, or whether one carries a pack.  If you have
reached this incredible level of hiking, then you too
are entitled to be recognized at our next Gathering in
Lake Wenatchee, WA, September 19-21, 2008. 

If you have completed the Triple Crown and would like
more information on receiving your due recognition,
please contact the Triple Crown Awards Coordinator
Yogi (yogihikes at sbcglobal.net). 

We hope to see all of you at the Gathering, whether a
Triple Crowner or not!!

More information about the Cdt-l mailing list